Route Guide

This forum is read only
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:19 pm

Route Guide

Postby admin » Fri May 02, 2014 4:56 pm

This guide is now redundant. Please refer to the V8 Route Guide. Feb 2017.

Dealing with routes is very easy and quite intuitive, so don't be put off by the detailed descriptions below.

Quick guide
R to create a route or append to the end. Esc to stop adding to the route.
E to edit a route. Esc to stop editing.
Double-click grab handle to delete a point
Right-click grab handle to insert a point
Drag a grab handle to another location.

Modes used with routes
There are three modes that relate to creating a route. The mode is displayed on the status bar (green bar below the map).
- View mode. No changes are being made. Leave whichever mode you are in to return to this mode by pressing the Esc key, or the button or key used to enter the mode you are leaving.
- Create mode. Creating a route or appending points to the end of a route. Click the Create Route button or press the R key.
- Edit mode. Inserting, deleting or moving points in the route. This does not include appending points to the end of the route. Click Edit Route button or press the E key.
You must return to View mode (Esc) before switching to any other mode.

Creating a new route
When you enter Create Mode the cursor will change to a cross hair and the Create Route button will be highlighted. Position the cursor where you would like to start the route and click to add the point. An asterisk(*) will be displayed in the status bar to indicate there are unsaved route changes. Once at least one point exists a dotted line will be drawn from the last point in the route, to the cursor. Note that as you move the cursor the status bar will show the coordinates for the cursor position and the length of the route including the length of the dotted line to the cursor. Don't worry about placing a route point on another object (waypoint, Geocache, hill or trigpoint), as unlike many other applications, this is not an issue. Continue adding points in this way until your route is complete, then leave Create mode.

Appending to the end of a route
Simply return to Create mode.

Editing a route
When you enter Edit mode grab handles (yellow squares) appear at each point in the route. When you move the cursor over a grab handle it will turn green to indicate it is active. Now you can drag the handle to where you want it to be on the map. Double-clicking a drag handle deletes that point and right-clicking it will insert a single point immediately prior to that point in the route.

Saving a route
Click on the Save Route button or press the S key to save the route. mapRoute will suggest a name based on the nearest location known to the geonames web service. You can accept the name or enter your own route name. Once saved, the asterisk in the status bar will disappear indicating there are no unsaved changes outstanding. Also the route name is displayed in the status bar. You can clear the route by clicking on the Clear Route button or by pressing the C key. If there are unsaved changes you will be warned before the route is cleared.

Zoom to route
The Zoom to Route button (alternatively press the Z key) centres the current route on your screen while zooming to the highest possible level whilst still displaying the entire route on the screen. It can be used whilst in any of the route related modes.

Elevation profile
Once you have at least two points in a route you can show the elevation profile by pressing the G key or selecting Refresh Graph from the menu (top left). When moving the cursor over the graph, cross hairs will show the selected location whilst a pin will be shown on the route indicating the corresponding map location. The top right area on the elevation profile shows the location, distance into the route and elevation at the point selected. The total ascent and descent for the route are shown further to the left.
Elevation data is provided from NASA's Shuttle Radar Topographic Mission (SRTM) and provides elevation data for much of the Earth's surface at 90 metre intervals. mapRoute currently has elevation data available for most of Western Europe. The rest of the world will be added at a future date.
The elevation profile is not dynamic, so if the route is edited while the graph is being displayed it will not be updated accordingly unless you manually select Refresh Graph from the menu or click the Image icon. The graph is automatically displayed when you load a saved route and is hidden when you clear a route. You can hide the profile graph by clicking on the Image symbol.
Image

Managing routes
Press 1 to show the Routes tab and your saved routes. Routes are shown in alphabetic order. As with all tabs, hover the cursor over the column heading for descriptions.
Edit the route name or description by clicking on the text areas.
Load a route onto the map by clicking the Image icon. Right click the eye-con to load the static route.
Download a route in a GPX file by clicking the Image button and then Route.
Send a route to the Archive tab by clicking Image. Routes can be unarchived, but if left in the archive they will be automatically burned (permanently deleted) after a couple of weeks.
Image reverses the direction of the route, so the first point becomes the last and vice-versa.
Clicking the ascent value toggles the route's elevation profile visibility. Multiple profiles can be displayed at the same time.

Viewing multiple routes on the map (static routes)
While you can only have one route that is available for editing at any one time you can load several other routes in a view only mode at the same time. To do this right-click Image on the Route tab. Static routes will appear in a light blue colour. You can't edit or Zoom to route on static routes. Their main purpose is for route comparison. For example, when you've walked a route that you have planned in mapRoute you can import your GPSr track and then view both the route and track at the same time.
All static routes can be cleared from Menu->Clear Static. This will not clear your active route. Use the Clear Route button (or C key) to clear the active route.

Locating routes on the map
Press the View Routes button (or V key) to enter Shared mode and show where your routes are located (pink push-pins) and/or where other user's shared routes are located (yellow push-pins). You can view a route by simply clicking on a push-pin. This will also return you to View mode. The routes shown is dependant on your settings (press 8). In the Routes section you can choose if you want to search for your own routes, other people's shared routes or both. The search radius from the centre of the screen is also defined here. If routes are found the map will zoom in to encompass all push-pins displayed. Leave Shared Mode (press Esc or click the button again) to return to your original view.

Shared routes will be covered in a separate guide.

Return to “Reference material”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests